Darwinorama

Last year I was contacted by David Ng at the University of British Columbia to see if I wanted to produce a set of drawings. David had devised a biodiversity themed card trading game (Phylo) and divvied it up to different artists for variety’s sake. My deck of cards concerned the voyage of Darwin aboard The Beagle.

Thinking I was being dead clever, I decided that I wanted all my cards to join up if collected (this is how I remember collecting cards from Superman the Movie when I was a kid, the prints on the back joined up to create the big man himself).

I made a panorama, leaving ‘safe spaces’ for the designers to lay type over and joined all the overlapping bits up. All this mucking about actually created more work, but hopefully a fun, if bizarre, Darwinorama.

Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (1)  Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (2)

   Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (3)Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (4)

Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (5)   Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (6)

Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (7)   Voyage of the Beagle Darwin Deck (8)

(Click on full image to embiggen)

One thought on “Darwinorama

Leave a reply

