Hammer time

Fairly recently I made some posters for my friend Alisdair Wood’s Hammer fanzine Claret. I watched a ton of Hammer films in quick succession which was no hardship. Even the ropiest Hammer film has something to enjoy, even if it’s for purely nostalgic reasons. She, for example – once you get past the colonial context- is an absolute ripsnorter. I have never had any discipline with colours, so my Scars of Dracula image was an exercise in a limited palette – I managed 4 colours plus white whilst with the Man Who Could Cheat Death I fancied having a pop at a partially successful pastiche of German Expressionism

What a laugh.

If this has tickled your fancy, Claret has lots of fantastic art – not least the terrific covers by Alisdair himself – and articles written by fans of the Hammer canon straight from their (freshly staked) hearts. It can be bought here

Leave a reply